The Gardens at Killruddery are the oldest in Ireland still surviving in their original 17th century unique style together with 18th and 19th century additions. They were designed for the entertainment of a large number of people and therefore the scale is comparable to that of a park and should be regarded as mainly the work of the 4th and 6th Earls. A French Landscape architect named Bonet, a pupil of Le Notre, was known to have been employed by the Earl of Meath in 1682.
The Angles are the middle section of the garden. They consist of a series of walks flanked by the hornbeam, lime or beech hedges which meet at two centre points. The design of the Angles, as seen from The Long Ponds are known as ”patte d’oie” or goose feet. Beyond The Angles is an avenue of Ilex trees dating from the 17th century and steps leading to what was known as the bowling green. This area is under restoration. The Long Ponds are twin canals 187 metres long and known as ‘miroirs d’eaux’ or reflecting ponds.
Opposite the Angles on the far side of the Long Ponds is a wooded area known as the Wilderness. A gate leads out to the Park and nearby is a statue of Venus. From here one can look back through the centre of the Beech Hedge Pond and beyond. The circular granite edged pond is 20 metres in diameter and the four Victorian cast iron statues at the entrances depict the four seasons of the year.
Beyond the Beech Hedge Pond are the gardens laid out in a 19th century style. A low yew hedge encloses a rose and lavender garden with a fountain in the centre.